Rheinquelle-Trail: The race will take place on July, 9th. We ask for consideration on the trails. #fairtrail

More

Rhein-Reuss-Rhôneweg: Ernen - Brig/Gils

Medium
21.8 km
6:10 h
276 mhd
793 mhd
Brig/Gils: Wallfahrtskirche
Ernen mit Kirche St. Georg

Show all 16 images

Eingang Kapelle Ernerwald
The Rhine-Reuss-Rhône Way connects the Graubünden Surselva to the vicinity of Lake Geneva. From the beginning in Disentis over the passes Oberalp and Furka to the Valais Goms we are, today again up to half of the stage, in the mountains at over 1000 m on the way.
Technique 1/6
Fitness 4/6
Highest Point  1302 m
Lowest Point  672 m
Best Season
Jan
Feb
Mär
Apr
Mai
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Okt
Nov
Dez
Start
Ernen in the village square
Destination
Brig at the town square
Coordinates
46.398553, 8.145755

Details

Description

We climb the Trusera water pipe in the Erner Wald to avoid car traffic into the Binntal. After crossing the Binna we make a small additional loop to the idyllically situated Jakobskapelle on the Albrunweg. On the schattenhang we hike via Grengiols to Mörel, past the children's cemetery zen Hohen Flühen of Bitsch and on the Red Mile to the Totenplatte in Naters. Behind the Mauritius Church stands the more than 500-year-old ossuary, where thousands of skulls stare at us behind a bar. On the opposite side of the Rotten, in Brig, a (pilgrim) hospice of St. Anthony with a chapel was donated as early as 1304, which was the Upper Valais hospital until after the Simplon tunnel was built. In its vicinity we find the Ursuline nunnery donated by Kaspar Stockalper (1609-1691) and the Stockalper Middle School of the College Spiritus Sanktus with an impressive church each

Geheimtipp

For the first three hours we have no shortcut or alternative transport option. From Grengiols we can always get to a station of the Matterhorn-Gotthard Railway (MGB) within a reasonable period of time.

Ausrüstung

On this alpine trail to Goms, frosty and windy conditions are also possible outside the winter months. Good weather protection is therefore doubly important

Responsible for this content Pilgerwege Schweiz.
This content has been translated automatically.

Outdooractive Logo

This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.

Rhein-Reuss-Rhôneweg: Ernen - Brig/Gils

Mittel
21.8 km
6:10 h
276 Hm
793 Hm
Brig/Gils: Wallfahrtskirche
Ernen mit Kirche St. Georg

16 Bilder anzeigen

Eingang Kapelle Ernerwald
Der Rhein-Reuss-Rhôneweg verbindet die Graubündner Surselva bis in die Nähe des Genfersees. Vom Beginn in Disentis über die Pässe Oberalp und Furka bis ins Walliser Goms sind wir, heute nochmals bis Hälfte der Etappe,  im Gebirge auf über 1000 m unterwegs.
Technik 1/6
Kondition 4/6
Höchster Punkt  1302 m
Tiefster Punkt  672 m
Beste Jahreszeit
Jan
Feb
Mär
Apr
Mai
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Okt
Nov
Dez

Start Ernen auf dem Dorfplatz
Ziel Brig beim Stadtplatz
Koordinaten 46.398553, 8.145755

Beschreibung

Wir steigen im Erner Wald auf die Wasserleitung Trusera, um dem Autoverkehr ins Binntal auszuweichen. Nach Überquerung der Binna machen wir eine kleine Zusatzschlaufe zur idyllisch gelegenen Jakobskapelle am Albrunweg. Am Schattenhang wandern wir über Grengiols nach Mörel, vorbei am Kinderfriedhof zen Hohen Flühen von Bitsch und auf der Roten Meile zur Totenplatte in Naters. Hinter der Mauritiuskirche steht das über 500-jährige Beinhaus, wo uns hinter einem Gitter tausende Totenschädel anstarren. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite des Rottens, in Brig, wurde schon 1304 ein (Pilger-) Hospiz des hl. Antonius mit Kapelle gestiftet, das bis nach dem Simplon-Tunnelbau das Oberwalliser Spital war. In seinem Umkreis finden wir das von Kaspar Stockalper (1609-1691) gestiftete Frauenkloster der Ursulinen und die Stockalpersche Mittelschule des Kollegiums Spiritus Sanktus mit je einer eindrücklichen Kirche

Geheimtipp

Die ersten drei Wegstunden haben wir keine Abkürzungs- oder alternative Transportmöglichkeit. Ab Grengiols gelangen wir immer wieder innert nützlicher Frist zu einem Bahnhof der Matterhorn-Gotthard-Bahn (MGB).

Verantwortlich für diesen Inhalt Pilgerwege Schweiz.

Outdooractive Logo

Diese Webseite nutzt Technologie und Inhalte der Outdooractive Plattform.