Romontsch.

The Romansh language

Kapelle Disentis Sedrun
In addition to German and Italian, Romansh is an official language in the canton of Grisons. At national level, it is one of the four national languages of Switzerland, together with German, French and Italian. Since 2001, Rumantsch Grischun has served as the official Romansh language at cantonal level.
Today, Romansh is spoken by about 19% of the Grisons population and 90% of Disentis and Sedrun inhabitants. Because of the former seclusion of many places and valleys, five idioms have formed.

The five idioms

Sursilvan: widespread in the Vorderrheintal valley and its side valleys (near Tujetsch and in the Val Medel with the dialect Tuatschin). In the region of Imboden (Il Plaun), with the villages of Domat/Ems, Rhäzüns, Bonaduz and Trin, Sursilvan has long been used as a school language but due to their linguistic characteristics, the dialects of these communities belong to the Sutsilvan.

Sutsilvan: in areas of the Hinterrhein, namely the mountain communities of the Domleschg (Tumliasca) and the Heinzenberg (Mantogna), as well as the Schams (Schons) and the Val Ferrera.

Surmiran: widespread in the Albula Valley, the municipality of Vaz/Obervaz and the Oberhalbstein (Surses).

Puter:  in the Upper Engadine and Bergün/Bravuogn, which does not belong geographically to the Engadine and has a local dialect similar to the Surmiran.

Vallader: widespread in the Lower Engadine and the Münstertal (where the dialect is called Jauer).

 

Rumantsch Grischun

Rumantsch Grischun was developed in 1982 by Heinrich Schmid on the initiative of the then Secretary-General of the Lia Rumantscha, Bernard Cathomas, as the standard written language of the Romansh in Grisons. Since 2001, it has served as an official Romansh language at cantonal level.

The three most vital idioms Vallader, Surmiran and Sursilvan, served as the basis for the development of the language, and linguist Heinrich Schmid always searched for the most significant commonality between the three idioms.

Romontsch.

Die rätoromanische Sprache

Kapelle Disentis Sedrun
Rätoromanisch ist neben Deutsch und Italienisch eine Amtssprache im Kanton Graubünden. Auf nationaler Ebene ist es neben Deutsch, Französisch und Italienisch eine der vier Landessprachen der Schweiz. Seit 2001 dient Rumantsch Grischun auf Kantonsebene als romanische Amtssprache.
Heute wird Romanisch von ca. 19% der Bündner Bevölkerung und 90% der Einwohner/innen aus Disentis und Sedrun gesprochen. Wegen der früheren Abgeschiedenheit vieler Orte und Täler haben sich fünf Idiome gebildet.

Die fünf Idiome

Sursilvan: Verbreitet im Vorderrheintal und dessen Seitentälern (bei Tujetsch und in der Val Medel mit dem Dialekt Tuatschin).  In der Region Imboden (Il Plaun) mit den OrtschaftenDomat/Ems, Rhäzüns, Bonaduz und Trin wurde Sursilvan lange als Schulsprache benutzt, aufgrund ihrer sprachlichen Merkmale gehören die Dialekte dieser Gemeinden jedoch zum Sutsilvan.

Sutsilvan: In Gebieten des Hinterrheins, nämlich in den Berggemeinden des Domleschgs (Tumliasca) und des Heinzenbergs (Mantogna), sowie im Schams (Schons) und im Val Ferrera.

Surmiran: Verbreitet im Albulatal, in der Gemeinde Vaz/Obervaz und im Oberhalbstein (Surses).

Puter: Im Oberengadin und in Bergün/Bravuogn, das geografisch nicht zum Engadin gehört und einen dem Surmiran nahestehenden Ortsdialekt aufweist.

Vallader: Verbreitet im Unterengadin und im Münstertal (dort spricht man den als Jauer bezeichneten Dialekt).

 

Die Verbreitung der Idiome im Kanton Graubünden

Idiome in Grabünden

Rumantsch Grischun

Rumantsch Grischun wurde 1982 von Heinrich Schmid auf Initiative des damaligen Generalsekretärs der Lia Rumantscha, Bernard Cathomas, als gemeinsame Schriftsprache der Rätoromanen Graubündens entwickelt. Seit 2001 dient es auf Kantonsebene als romanische Amtssprache.

Als Grundlage für die Entwicklung der Sprache dienten die drei vitalsten Idiome Vallader, Surmiran und Sursilvan. Der Sprachwissenschaftler Heinricht Schmid suche dabei stets nach der grössten Gemeinsamkeit zwischen den drei Idiomen.

Kauderwelsch

Buchtipp

Möchten Sie mehr als «Bien di» oder «Buna sera» sagen können? Das Buch «Kauderwelsch» bringt Ihnen Wort für Wort Romontsch Sursilvan bei. Das Buch ist in unseren Touristinfos oder in der Papeteria Hosang erhältlich.